Utah Criminal Defense Blog
Tax Day 2017, the IRS filing deadline for 2016 tax returns, falls on April 18 this year. The Desert News reported on April 3 that because many people pay other parties to prepare returns for them, officials with the IRS are cautioning taxpayers to “be wary of shady characters masquerading as professional preparers.”
Every year, the IRS releases a “Dirty Dozen” list of tax scams that includes a variety of common scams taxpayers may encounter any time during the year. According to the IRS, tax-related identity theft “remains a top item on the Dirty Dozen list because it remains an ongoing concern even though progress is being made.”
The agency said that the number of taxpayers reporting stolen identities on federal tax returns in 2016 fell by more than 50 percent, with nearly 275,000 fewer victims compared to a year ago. The IRS provides the following reminders for taxpayers and tax professionals:
- Always use security software with firewall and anti-virus protections. Make sure the security software is always turned on and can automatically update. Encrypt sensitive files such as tax records stored on the computer. Use strong passwords.
- Learn to recognize and avoid phishing emails, threatening phone calls and texts from thieves posing as legitimate organizations such as a bank, credit card company and government organizations, including the IRS. Do not click on links or download attachments from unknown or suspicious emails.
- Protect personal data. Don’t routinely carry a Social Security card, and make sure tax records are secure. Treat personal information like cash; don’t leave it lying around.
The crime commonly known as identity theft is referred to as identity fraud in the Utah Code. The offense is typically a third-degree felony when the value of the credit, goods, services, employment, or any other thing of value involved is less than $5,000, but the crime can become a second-degree felony if the value is or exceeds $5,000, or if the use of personal identifying information results, directly or indirectly, in bodily injury of another person.
Lawyer for Identity Fraud Arrests in Salt Lake City
An alleged offender commits the crime of identity fraud in Utah under Utah Code § 76-6-1102 when he or she knowingly or intentionally uses, or attempts to use, the personal identifying information of another person, whether that person is alive or deceased, with fraudulent intent, including to obtain, or attempt to obtain, credit, goods, services, employment, any other thing of value, or medical information. Personal identifying information can include a name, birth date, address, telephone number, driver’s license number, Social Security number, place of employment, employee identification numbers or other personal identification numbers, mother’s maiden name, electronic identification numbers, a photograph or any other realistic likeness, electronic signatures under Title 46, Chapter 4, Uniform Electronic Transactions Act, or any other numbers or information that can be used to access a person’s financial resources or medical information, except for numbers or information that can be prosecuted as financial transaction card offenses.
When a person is accused of committing an identity fraud offense or any white collar crime in Utah, it is critical to immediately seek the help of an experienced Salt Lake City criminal defense attorney. Many alleged offenders in these types of cases had no intent to obtain goods or services through fraud. Some people face these charges as the result of using personal information at the request of the alleged victims.
A lawyer may be able to uncover flaws in a prosecutor’s case that lead to criminal charges being minimized or completely eliminated. If you think that you might be under investigation or you have already been arrested in Utah for alleged identity fraud, it is in your best interest to retain legal counsel as soon as possible for help achieving the most favorable possible resolution to your case.
According to the United States Department of Justice’s special report on veterans in prison and jail, which was released in December 2015, 181,500 veterans were incarcerated in U.S. jails and prisons. From 2011-2012 armed forces veterans made up 8 percent of the jail and prison population.
The figures regarding incarcerated veterans are especially troubling considering approximately half of veterans in jail or prison have been diagnosed with a mental disorder by a medical professional. Commonly, veteran suffer from serious mental health issues after military service, including post-traumatic stress disorder, depression, and traumatic brain injuries (TBI), which contribute to criminal and violent behavior.
Studies show veterans are more likely to be sentenced for violent crimes than non-veterans. Of the veterans convicted, more than 77 percent were honorably discharged or discharged under honorable conditions.
Commonly, veterans were charged with the following offenses:
- Domestic Violence
- Driving Under the Influence/Drunk Driving (DUI)
- Weapons/Firearms Charges
- Assault/Aggravated Assault
Utah law makers recognize that the men and women who served honorably in the United States Armed Forces face unique and pronounced obstacles reintegrating into society after military service and combat. In response, the Utah Legislature created Veteran’s Courts, also called the Justice Outreach Initiative, in March of 2015.
Utah Code §78A-5-301, the legislation which authorizes Veteran’s Courts, allows former active military, naval, or air service members to enter the program upon entering a plea of guilty or plea in abeyance (or no contest). Both low-level and more serious offenders are eligible for the program.
Acceptance into the Veteran’s Court is discretionary and requires a showing of why the program is appropriate based on the criminal offense. If you are a veteran or former military member charged with a criminal offense anywhere in Utah, including Salt Lake County, Box Elder County, Cache County, Weber County, or surrounding areas, it is important to consult an experienced criminal defense attorney about the Utah Veteran’s Court program.
What is the Veteran’s Program?
Veteran’s Court is a collaborative program involving defense attorneys, prosecutors, the court, and the United States Office of Veteran Affairs that is designed to help veteran; particularly those who suffer with post-traumatic stress syndrome or other mental illness, connect with the resources they need and reintegrate into society.
As part of the Veteran’s Court program, the following requirements must be met:
- The defendant must be a former member of the military, naval, or air service;
- The defendant must enter a plea of guilty or a plea in abeyance to criminal charges;
- As part of the program, the defendant is subject to frequent alcohol testing (if appropriate);
- The defendant must participate in veteran diversion outreach program, including substance abuse program (if appropriate); and
- The defendant must fulfill any additional sanctions or penalties imposed by the Court, which are appropriate to promote public safety, safety of victim(s), and are consistent with the defendant’s due process rights.
The Utah Veteran’s Court Program accepts defendants charged with low-level and serious offenses. According to Richard Schwermer, assistant Utah State Courts administrator, in a June 2015 interview, the Veteran’s Court program is dedicated to individuals who are already pained by the deaths of their comrades. The program is committed to helping them.
He emphatically stated:
“If we don’t take them in veteran’s court, by definition they’re going to get less help. That’s why we take the folks with very serious issues.”
Why do I Need an Attorney for the Veteran’s Program?
While the Veteran’s Court Program is dedicated to the rehabilitation and treatment of former United States Armed Forces members, acceptance into the program is discretionary. This means that an individual is not automatically accepted into the program by virtue of veteran status.
- Veteran’s Court is Not Automatic: The veteran defendant must show that he or she deserves acceptance into the program. Veteran’s Court does accept both low-level and more serious criminal defendants; however, the defendant must show he or she can be rehabilitated and will not show a continuing threat to the public. An experienced criminal defense attorney can identify the necessary evidence to support why acceptance into the program is appropriate.
- Adherence to Program Requirements is Important: The Veteran’s Court Program is not a “get out of jail free” card. Participants must follow the program’s strict requirements, which include peer mentoring, substance abuse counseling, alcohol abuse counseling, regular court check-ins, and frequent alcohol testing. Failure to adhere to these requirements could result in dismissal from the program and subject the defendant to jail time and expensive fines.
- Expunction is Possible upon Completion: Also, the benefits of the Veteran’s Court program are too great to leave up to chance. Upon acceptance and completion of the program, the criminal charges are dropped or the defendant’s criminal record is expunged.
Expunction or the process of clearing the criminal offense from public record is key to a veteran getting his or her life back on track after receiving tools and resources from the Veteran’s Court program.
Darren Levitt of Levitt Legal is an experienced criminal defense attorney based in Salt Lake City, Utah. He represents veterans and civilians, who have been charged with criminal offenses, including domestic violence, assault, DUI, theft, and more.
Levitt Legal proudly defends individuals throughout Utah, including Salt Lake City, Sandy, West Jordan, West Valley City, and surrounding areas. Contact Levitt Legal at 801-455-1743 for a confidential review of your case. Attorney available 24/7.
Utah Code §78A-5-301 ǀ Veterans Court
National Alliance of Mental Illness-Veterans and Active Duty
Department of Justice ǀ Veterans in Prison and Jail, 2011-12
Department of Justice ǀ Veterans in Prison and Jail, 2004
Late last month, a 19-year-old man was arrested in Florida for his alleged role in the March killing of a convenience store clerk in Murray. Roughly one week later, two men were arrested in Colorado for the alleged kidnapping, forgery, and exploitation of a vulnerable adult in South Salt Lake. All three of these alleged offenders were awaiting extradition to Utah after being taken into custody.
While the nature of these crimes garnered media attention, people should understand that alleged out of state offenders facing many other types of more common criminal charges in Utah are also extradited to the Beehive State when they are apprehended in other states. People who may be visiting the Salt Lake City area on vacation, business, or traveling through the state for other reasons cannot assume that arrests for offenses such as driving under the influence (DUI) or possession of a controlled substance will just be forgotten and languish in Utah courts.
If you have been arrested in the greater Salt Lake City area while visiting from another state, here are five things you should know about the charges you face:
- Arrest warrants issued in Utah are valid in other states — While a criminal case can only be tried within the jurisdiction that the offense occurred, a bench warrant that is issued following your failure to appear can lead to you being arrested by any law enforcement agency that learns of the warrant. This means that if you pulled over for a minor traffic infraction in your state of residence, a police officer could take you into custody based solely on that Utah warrant.
- Extradition applies in all 50 states — As stated above, people whom the state of Utah deem fugitives from justice can be extradited from other states to face punishment in the Beehive State. Title 18 United States Code § 3182 requires all states to deliver fugitives from justice for any crimes to the states from which they fled.
- There is no statute of limitations — Do not think that if you stay out of trouble in your home state for a certain number of year that the criminal charges will just go away. Utah Code § 76-1-304(1) plainly states, “The period of limitation does not run against any defendant during any period of time in which the defendant is out of the state following the commission of an offense.”
- A bounty hunter could be looking for you — If you were released from prison through a bail bond company and failed to appear in court, then the bail bond company is usually on the hook for a large sum of money. These companies typically employ licenses bail enforcement agents (commonly referred to as “bounty hunters”) to locate and apprehend people who have jumped bail. There may be limitations on what these agents can do depending on the state that you live in, but they can generally enter your property without a warrant if they feel that you are a flight risk and rest assured that they certainly have the financial incentive to bring you to justice.
- Hiring a Utah attorney can easily help you avoid all of these troubles — Many people fail to appear in court simply because they believe their residence in another state excuses their absence. While not living in Utah can indeed make the prospect of repeated court appearances quite a hassle, these appearances are not always necessary. A Salt Lake City criminal lawyer can appear on your behalf and possibly resolve your case without you having to arrange any flight tickets.
Domestic violence has received increased national awareness in recent months. More people have spoken out about the seriousness of this issue, often helping victims understand their options. In the state of Utah, domestic violence often involves current or former spouses, people in dating relationships, or members of the same household.
Many of these cases can result in the issuance of protective orders. In Utah, there are two types of protective orders that a court may issue under the Cohabitant Abuse Act:
- Criminal protective orders are issued when there are criminal domestic violence charges against an alleged offender. A court may issue a protective order while a case is pending or after an alleged offender has been convicted.
- Civil protective orders are sought from courts by alleged victims in cases in which there may not be criminal charges. There are two types of civil protective orders: Temporary protective orders and final protective orders.
Temporary protective orders are frequently called “ex parte” protective orders. Ex parte is Latin for “by or for one party,” and ex parte judicial proceedings are conducted solely for the benefit of one party. A Utah court may issue an ex parte protective order based only on testimony from the alleged victim. These types of protective orders are temporary and will expire if they are not extended at hearing dates.
The issuance of an ex parte protective order will usually lead to a date being set for a final protective order hearing, typically within 20 days. During this hearing, an alleged offender will have the opportunity to present his or her own case. Because emotions usually run high in these types of cases, it is wise to have legal representation for a protective order hearing.
Under Utah Code § 78B-7-106, a protective order may grant the following types of relief to alleged victims:
- Prohibit the alleged offender from threatening to commit or committing domestic violence or abuse against the alleged victim and any designated family or household member
- Prohibit the alleged offender from harassing, telephoning, contacting, or otherwise communicating with the alleged victim, directly or indirectly
- Order that the alleged offender to leave and stay away from the residence, school, or place of employment of the alleged victim
- Prohibit the alleged offender from purchasing, using, or possessing a firearm or other weapon specified by the court
- Award possession and use of an automobile and other essential personal effects to the alleged victim
- Grant to the alleged victim temporary custody of any minor children
- Order any further relief that the court considers necessary to provide for the safety and welfare of the alleged victim and any designated family or household member
- Order the alleged offender to pay child support or spousal support
Alleged offenders need to remember that temporary protective orders are still in effect when both parties appear in court for the final hearing, meaning that any confrontations outside the courthouse may lead to criminal charges for violations of protective orders. Again, it is wise to seek the help of an experienced lawyer who can help prepare written statements, present evidence and witnesses, and generally ensure all legal guidelines are properly followed.
Legal counsel will not only help you prepare the strongest possible initial case, but will also understand what your appeal options are if you are preparing for a protective order hearing. If you have an upcoming protective order hearing in Utah, contact a Salt Lake City domestic violence defense attorney today to discuss your case and understand all of your legal options.
If you have been charged with Robbery or Aggravated Robbery in Utah, then you should speak with an experienced and determined Utah criminal defense attorney, who frequently represents clients accused of violent crimes. Having a skilled, focused, and detail-oriented criminal defense attorney on your side can mean the difference between emerging from your criminal legal problems unscathed and going to jail or prison.
Utah Code section 76-6-301(1)(a) defines robbery as the taking of “personal property in the possession of another from his person, or immediate presence, against his will, by means of force or fear, and with a purpose or intent to deprive the person permanently or temporarily of the personal property.” Robbery is a second degree felony.
Perhaps the most important element of the robbery is the “‘force’ or ‘fear’” clause. You may be surprised to learn what the Utah Supreme Court has found constitutes force or fear for the purpose of robbery.
Imagine two teenagers at the mall. One kid takes the other’s sunglasses and cell phone, and won’t return it to him after several requests. The two kids agree to “slap box” for the items. One of the kids then clenches his fist, hits the other in the head, and walks off with the other’s personal items. These were the facts in the case of State in the Interest of D.B., 925 P.2d 178 (Utah Ct. Apps. 1996). In that case, the Court declined to follow the “transactional approach” and held that the ‘”force or fear” in robbery need not be in the act of taking of the property, but rather in accomplishing the taking of the property either prior to its taking or in its completion. So D.B. was guilty of robbery even though he didn’t use force in accomplishing the acquisition of the cell phone and sunglasses, he did use force in completion of the taking, and that was sufficient enough to satisfy the fear or force element of the crime of robbery.
Consider another, more recent case of State v. Phillips, 2006 UT App 211. Defendant Phillips had taken compact discs from a library when a security guard approached him. Phillips responded “I have a knife” and displayed a knife hidden in his sleeve. The security guard feared for his life, and the court held that by flashing the knife during his attempted escape, Phillips used the fear of force in the immediate flight after his theft. Additionally, his crime was enhanced to aggravated robbery, a first degree felony, since Phillips used a dangerous weapon in the course of committing a robbery.
“A person commits aggravated robbery if in the course of committing robbery, he: (a) uses or threatens the use of a dangerous weapon as defined in Section 76-1-601; (b) causes serious bodily injury upon another; or (c) takes or attempts to take an operable motor vehicle.” Utah Code § 76-6-302(1).
If you have been charged with Robbery or Aggravated Robbery in Utah, a trained and experienced criminal defense attorney can mean all the difference. Click here to contact a trained professional in Salt Lake City, Utah to begin protecting your rights today.
- source: SoCal photos
Last month the Utah House of Representatives voted 8-5 in favor of recommending HB 140. HB 140, also called the “Vehicle Checkpoints Amendments” Act, repeals authorization for traffic checkpoints regarding impaired driving and vehicle operation. More specifically, the bill repeals authorization for administrative traffic checkpoints regarding drivers that may be under the influence of alcohol or drugs, and regarding license plates, registration certificates, insurance certificates, or drivers’ licenses.
To be sure, however, the bill does not do away with checkpoints all together. Instead, the new law requires that the administrative traffic checkpoint may be established and operated upon written authority of a judge. A judge may issue written authority where there is a written plan for the checkpoint describing details of the operation, such as: the location, date/time/duration, sequence of traffic to be stopped, purpose, minimum personnel numbers, configuration (signs, etc), advance notice to public-at-large, and instruction given to operating enforcement officers.
The judge is required to make an independent judicial determination that the plan minimizes the time delay, privacy intrusions, to motorists.
If you’ve been stopped and charged with a DUI, then a DUI attorney in Salt Lake City and surrounding areas of Utah can certainly help you vigorously defend against the charges and protect your rights.
“Even though my case was only a small traffic violation to him, it meant the world to me. That’s why I was so grateful when Darren took the time to fully explain things and answer my questions. I would definitely recommend him as a criminal defense attorney, and a really nice person!”
I.S., Salt Lake City
“Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! I don’t know how you did it, but you successfully resolved my DUI in such a way that I was still able to get my naturalized citizenship without having to wait five more years to reapply. I can never thank you enough.”
-O.R., Salt Lake City
With the slow economy, states across the nation have slashed funding to important services, including law enforcement and public safety, leaving residents nervous about their health and safety. Surprisingly, the rates of violent crimes have dropped in the country, with an average national decrease of six percent nationwide according to an FBI report. This FBI report includes murder, non-negligent manslaughter, forcible rape, robbery, and aggravated assault in the definition of “violent crime.”
This FBI study has also found that Utah experienced a drop of two percent in violent crimes during 2010, compared to the previous year. Most astonishing is the sharp decrease in violent crime statistics in cities such as St. George, located in Williamson County, which saw a 26% decrease. All of this, despite fewer resources available to law enforcement agencies!
However, the sluggish violent crime rates in Utah do not mean that the state is lenient to convicted offenders. In fact, Utah’s statutes contain harsh penalties for violent crime offenders, which may contribute to the comparatively low rates in the studies conducted by the FBI.
Among the types of violent crimes, assault is probably the most commonplace in Utah and across the country. Assault can even be considered a crime of passion in many cases as the alleged action is often the result of a strong impulse of rage or betrayal. While a first time assault offense in Utah can potentially be classified as a Class B misdemeanor (up to 6 months in jail and $1,000 in fines), it can still appear on background checks. Given the frequent use of background checks by potential employers, a person convicted of a violent crime in Utah may find many opportunities closed to them. In this economy, the threat of this fate can serve as a strong deterrence.
Robbery crime rates in Utah are also among the lowest in the nation. Under Utah Criminal Code Section 76-6-301, an adult arrested for robbery in Salt Lake City can find him or herself facing steep penalties. Even a first robbery offense by a person with no prior criminal record can be punished a second degree felony. This is punishable by a prison sentence of one to 15 years and a fine of up to $10,000. The penalty for aggravated robbery (in which a dangerous weapon is used or injury is caused) is even more severe as a first degree felony offense, potentially leading to life imprisonment and a hefty fine.
If you have been charged with a violent crime, whether it’s a misdemeanor or felony, it’s important to closely examine all of your legal options. Even if the odds appear stacked against you, you do have rights and an experienced assault attorney in Salt Lake City can help weaken the prosecution’s case against you. Regardless of the circumstances of your alleged offense, there are multiple paths which an attorney can use to pursue dismissed charges, minimized sentencing, and other favorable outcomes.